Tea Break #4: Caffeine

I usually drink tea for the flavor, but some mornings I just need that extra boost, so I pull out my Assam Breakfast or Morning Thunder teas (and later, chia seeds!) to get me going in a delicious way.  Though I do love a cup of good coffee, too much gives me a headache.  Tea is a great alternative source of caffeine.  Here’s what Republic of Tea has to say about it:

Caffeine occurs naturally in tea. A mild stimulant, it accounts for tea’s reputation as a beverage that clears the mind and lifts the spirit.  The more oxidized the tea the greater its caffeine content, as demonstrated in the caffeine chart below.  Green tea and 100% white tea, which are not oxidized, have less caffeine per cup than black tea.  In between we have oolong tea, which is semi-oxidized and has about half as much caffeine as black tea.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

