Recipe Book: Bread Bowls and Root Veggie Soup

Winter means two things for me: good food and presents!  Since it’s the slow season at the farm, I have plenty of free time to cook delicious delectables, and Christmas presents like BREAD MACHINES make it even more fun!

CIMG2851For my first experiment with my new bread machine, I decided to make bread bowls to go with the wintery root veggie soup I’d been craving.  With many of my favorite vegetables going out of season soon, I had to take advantage of them one last time.  There is no set recipe for soup, as it’s really just a creation of your cravings.  For this soup I used carrots, turnips, rutabaga, kohlrabi bulbs & leaves, spinach, pinto beans, lentils, scallions, garlic, and a yummy blend of sea salt and spices.  Cook the veggies and beans until they’re just shy of being done, then throw them in the crock pot to simmer for a few hours with the herbs.  Yum!

The bread bowls were even easier.  My future mother-in-law copied the recipe for me out of her bread machine recipe book (later she decided that I simply had to have that book, which she proceeded to order for me – as if the bread machine wasn’t enough!) and really all you have to do is put the ingredients in the pan, sit back, and enjoy the smells!

CIMG2853Bread BowlsIngredients:
-1 cup water
-2 3/4 cups bread flour
-1 tablespoon sugar
-1 teaspoon salt
-1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
-1 egg yolk
-1 tablespoon water

Directions:
-Place all ingredients except egg yolk and 1 tbsp water in bread machine pan in the order they’re listed (wet ingredients always go first, then dry, yeast last).  Select the Dough/Manual cycle.
-Remove dough from pan using lightly floured hands.  Cover and let rest for 10 minutes on a lightly floured surface.
-Grease the outside of 6 10-oz custard cups (I used 3 mini bread pans, which are about the size of a large muffin.  They were the perfect size & thickness, I don’t see how you could stretch that amount of dough to make 6 bowls).  Place cups upside down on ungreased cookie sheet.  Divide dough into 6 equal pieces.  Roll or pat each piece into 7 inch circles on a lightly floured surface.  Shape the circle over outside of cups.  Cover and let rise in a warm place for 15 to 20 minutes or until slightly puffy.
-Heat over to 375 degrees.  Mix the egg yolk and water and brush over bread bowls.  Bake 18 to 22 minutes or until golden brown.
-Fill with your favorite soup and enjoy!
CIMG2854

Leave a Reply

